Mediterraneo in Providence

13 Oct

Did you think I abandoned you? I almost thought I did, too! Just kidding, I’m back…because I bought a netbook and I can now update on my multiple-hour commute. Such a great purchase that lets me be productive on the go. So, awesome Italian food?

I haven’t been out for Italian food since I moved to Boston. We cook quite a bit at home, which sometimes leans toward Italian cuisine, but for the past few weeks I’ve been craving a glass of wine and some delicious pasta that I don’t need to prepare myself!

On our way down to Providence I was researching differences between the five million Italian restaurants on Federal Hill, but didn’t find anything too convincing. Parking on one end, we decided to walk down and see what caught our eye.

We entered a little after 7 and the dining room was full, but we only had a 15-20 minute wait and there was room at the bar (which is in a quiet room off to the right) for us to relax. We were seated at a small, semi-al fresco table, creating a romantic feel in contrast to the busy room.

A glass of pinot grigio. Delicious bread with olive oil and a bit of dried red pepper flakes. I was already content! I ordered the linguine ai frutti di mare, which came with a great red sauce and shrimp, calamari, sea scallops (perfect cooked), littleneck clams, and mussels. Our waiter was great – very personable and knowledgeable.

Tiramisu on the dessert plate that looked amazing, but, as per usual, I was so full I couldn’t order dessert.

So, we had a great meal, didn’t order dessert, but were given complementary lemoncello shots anyway!

Sunday through Friday they have three-course prix-fixe lunch ($14.95) and dinner ($29.95) options, which I would suggest taking advantage of if you’re not there on a Saturday.

Mediterraneo Caffe, 134 Atwells Ave, Providence, RI

Mediterraneo on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,667 other followers

