ShotCakes at the Burlington Mall

16 Oct

Phantom Gourmet often features some of the most outrageous foods in the greater Boston area: I recently noted ‘ShotCakes’ while I was watching the show. A few weeks later, when I was in Burlington Mall, I saw the modern-looking storefront and was excited to try it out.

Cupcakes at this dessert spot are filled with vanilla or chocolate soft serve  ice cream. I like cupcakes sometimes (and ice cream all the time), so I figured it was worth a try. 

I ordered a brownie cupcake filled with vanilla ice cream – each element was mediocre on its own, but together made for an interesting combination – similar to a brownie sundae. ShotCakes doesn’t rank as one of my favorites, but it’s a creative idea. The management didn’t seem to treat employees very well, which bothered me.

If I’m shopping anyway, I’ll stop again for a snack, but there are better options in the Boston area for sweets. 

Update: I visited ShotCakes a second time and didn’t have a great experience: after waiting in line for a while (they were very busy), the woman at the register made an announcement that the ice cream machine was not working, but that there were pre-filled cupcakes in the freezer if we’d like to have one of those. Hm…

ShotCakes, 75 Middlesex Turnpike, Burlington MA

ShotCakes on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “ShotCakes at the Burlington Mall”

  1. Fiona February 5, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    Good to know, I just saw them on Phantom and was wondering what they are like. Guess I won’t rush out of my way to test them out…

    • Liz February 5, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

      It’s too bad, I wanted to like them! It’s a great concept, so maybe they’ll learn to develop a better product in the future.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,667 other followers

