2nd Annual Cookie Swap for a Cause and After-Party

20 Dec

View over Fort Point from Space with a Soul

On Sunday I attended the 2nd Annual Cookie Swap for a Cause event at Space with a Soul in Fort Point, Boston. Boston Food Swap organized the event to raise money for Cookies for Kids’ Cancer through the Glad to Give Campaign. Glad donated one dollar for every cookie swapped and attendees were asked to bring at least 4 dozen cookies. I made 53 cookies, which means I donated $53. In total the event raised over $4,000. A huge success!

This was my first time visiting Space with a Soul. The image above is the view from their event space. Nice even on a rainy Sunday.

I made ginger snap cookies in the shape of snails (I know, they look like whales, too – whatever you want to call them is fine by me).  The recipe is from America’s Test Kitchen, which I’ll post soon.

My ginger snap cookies in the shape of snails

The atmosphere was fun and I had a great time catching up with Shannon and Adri from Google+ Local (sponsoring the event), along with my friend Krystal who joined me for the swap and after-party.

As guests arrived, we placed our cookies on tables throughout the room and then enjoyed some drinks and activities while we waited about an hour until swapping began.

Mint Chocolate Seltzer from Polar

So I didn’t think I would ever try these crazy Polar seltzer flavors like mint chocolate and eggnog, but I did at the swap. I the mint chocolate was good – refreshing with a hint of sweet. I wasn’t sure how thick and creamy eggnog could translate to fresh and bubbly…I learned not too well. It was fun to try, though.

Deep Eddy Vodka was also there mixing drinks with their regular vodka and sweet tea vodka. I had a sweet tea lemonade and then a pear vodka (using Polar’s spiced pear seasonal flavor) – both were delicious. Deep Eddy is based in Austin, Texas and their products can be found in larger liquor stores throughout the Northeast.

My decorated Google + Local Cookie

Then I ventured over to the Google+ Local table and decorated a cookie! Note to self: marshmallows are delicious on frosted cookies. I also tried a yummy mint M&M (not pictured above) for the first time.

I learned about the Neiman Marcus Urban Legend Cookie - I’m not sure who made them, but they were delicious. I’m going to make them sometime. Although I didn’t get to try Hiroshi’s Green Tea Cookies (below), I did get the recipe and I can’t wait to try those out because 1. I love using matcha and 2. they’re pretty!

Green Tea Cookies from the Cookie Swap

Some other bakers gave me great ideas for my own projects, including maple snickerdoodles, chocolate-dipped cookies, and beautiful Italian rainbow cookies (the ones with pink, yellow, and green layers covered in chocolate).

As the swap came to an end, a group of Google+ Local reviewers and I headed over to Lucky’s Lounge with Adri and Shannon to enjoy cookie-themed cocktails and post-swap snacks. I had a ‘thin mint’ style martini (maybe I was still craving those mint M&Ms?), burger slider with a tiny fried egg, mac & cheese, a deviled egg, and veggies and cheese. Everyone at Luckys was helpful and friendly to our group – I was glad to finally check them out.

Have a favorite cookie you’ve swapped or shared for the holidays? Let me know in the comments and feel free to leave a link to a recipe!

3 Responses to “2nd Annual Cookie Swap for a Cause and After-Party”

  1. Colleen December 21, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    Great to find your blog through the cookie swap! It’s funny – I actually enjoyed the eggnog seltzer water but didn’t expect to. I wish I had tried the mint chocolate – sounds like it was tasty!
    Happy holidays :)

    • Liz December 21, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      Hi Colleen,

      Thanks for stopping by! Yeah I don’t know, I couldn’t get into the eggnog. Too sweet and intense, I think. But I’m glad I tried it because I had walked by those flavors for weeks in the market and was very curious.

      Hope to see you at an event in the future and happy holidays!
      Liz

  2. Simply Life (@SimplyLifeBlog) December 21, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    I had so much fun at this event – so many good cookies to try!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,622 other followers

