Tasty Burger in Harvard Square

2 Jan

Burgers and fries. And an inexpensive place to eat these delicious late-night necessities after 3am? Enter the newly opened Tasty Burger in Harvard Square. I had to visit.

I’ve been tweeting @TastyBurgerUSA since I heard they were opening a Cambridge location and they’ve showed me no love, but I still had to try it out (and invite friends). Tasty Burger is also in Kenmore and South Boston, but Harvard is open the latest of the three (until 4am every night).

Renee from Eat.Live.Blog, Lara from Good Cook Doris, Taryn from Sweetly Serendipity, and Vijay from NoshOnIt and his girlfriend joined me for lunch at Tasty Burger Harvard a few days before Christmas.

Tasty Burger Harvard Square menu and interior

Tasty Burger Harvard Square Interior

The space has two floors – the first is a bare-bones, cafeteria-style area, and the downstairs is a full-service restaurant with decor similar to the Fenway location.

Tasty Burger Order

It was so nice to get together with bloggers to catch up and see what the menu had to offer.

Tasty Burger's Kahuna Burger

I ordered the kahuna burger (a 1/3 pound beef patty with pineapple, grilled onions, teriyaki sauce) and a chocolate milkshake. The burger was average. Each component felt thrown together without care: the pineapple was too thick and wasn’t grilled enough; the onions weren’t as flavorful as they should have been.

I had been looking forward to the milkshake because I’ve had shakes at their Fenway location, but this one fell short. It was too thin and tasted like plain chocolate ice cream – not nearly as flavor-packed and creamy as what I’ve had before. Plus, when a milkshake costs just about as much as my burger, it should be something to remember.

Service was fine. We were a group of six putting in a large order, so it would have been nice to get a little more attention.

To be fair – Tasty Burger in Harvard Square just opened and they might need some time for the cooks to adjust. I’d go back for a late-night snack, but probably not for lunch again until I hear some better experiences.

Tasty Burger: 40 JFK Street, Harvard Square, Cambridge

Tasty Burger on Urbanspoon

8 Responses to “Tasty Burger in Harvard Square”

  1. Jane (@CornBlogGirl) January 14, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Hm, maybe I’ll wait until they’re a little more settled to give it a try.

  2. Taryn January 5, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    I agree my burger was pretty average as well – but the low price point is nice. The fries were very tasty – and I’m hoping with a bit more time, they’ll perfect their game. Nice to see you!

    • Liz January 5, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

      Yes! I’m looking forward to trying them out again in a few months. So glad you could come!

  3. vplant January 3, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Glad I got to read your review, its on my list. Happy to hear they have beer too! I wonder if they stop serving at 2am though? Did you see a pool table in there at all? Heard there may be one… Thanks!

    • Liz January 3, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

      Thanks for visiting! I’m assuming they stop serving alcohol early as per MA law (which I am NOT a fan of!) and yes, there is a free pool table downstairs!

  4. Emily Chilton January 3, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    Interesting. Glad you got to try it!

  5. PeepThisPeeps January 2, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    Good to know. I was thinking of trying it. How are the non red meat options or vegetarian friendly.

    • Liz January 2, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

      They have a veggie burger and then of course fries and onion rings (which are pretty good). Def a burger place, but there are some options…and beer! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,667 other followers

