Salt Water Creek Cafe in Murrells Inlet, South Carolina

7 Jan

SaltWaterCreekCafe_Exterior

As you know from my Saturday Short List, I’m welcoming in the new year from beautiful Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Whenever I visit I’m reminded of just how high the cost of living in Boston is compared to other parts of the country. Eating at Salt Water Creek Cafe is no exception – their early bird menu (4-6pm every day) is seriously a great deal. Every item listed below is from the early bird menu. Their regular menu features the same dishes, but with different price points and combinations.

SaltWaterCreekCafe_Interior

The interior is modern in the first section with a bar and sushi bar; the main dining room has cozy brick walls and a fireplace in the center.

SaltWaterCreekCafe_Chips

These homemade potato chips with a buttermilk chive dip are a must-try ($5). It’s a huge order.

SaltWaterCreekCafe_Cocktails

Our server was excellent – super friendly, funny, helpful, and she even makes the drinks for her tables. I ordered the bloody mary, which was simple, but with a good amount of vodka and a nice kick of horseradish. On the right is the margarita – we ordered it light on the sugar and it was quite strong! What I can’t get over is how little these drinks cost during happy hour. $3. What?! How is that possible? I don’t know, but it’s awesome.

SaltWaterCreekCafe_OysterShooters

These are the oyster shooters (oyster, vodka, cocktail sauce), something I had never tried before ($6). I’m a purist – fresh, raw oysters on the half shell, with just a small squeeze of lemon. These were fine – I mostly picked the oysters out of them and then drank the vodka separately, but the oysters were plump and had a great mild flavor.

SaltWaterCreekCafe_CaesarSalad

A salad or soup comes with the entrees – the caesar salad was simple and good. I had been craving one, so this did the trick.

SaltWaterCreekCafe_SheCrabSoup

She Crab Soup is a classic South Carolina recipe and they did a great job with it. Rich and creamy with subtle crab throughout (add $1.50 to an entree).

SaltWaterCreekCafe_Salmon

For my entree I ordered the lightly blackened salmon with basmati rice and the daily vegetable ($13). The salmon was slightly overcooked, but the seasoning was great and I enjoyed the light pineapple, tomato, and tangerine garnish. The rice was very plain and I would have liked even a bit of butter thrown in, but the carrots were great (and I would have liked more of them!). I was surprised by how large the plate was because the amount of food looks small, but it was filling.

With the name Salt Water Creek Cafe, I had no idea what to expect. Like so many restaurants in South Carolina, the atmosphere is easy-going, friendly, and the food is of good quality while still being down-to-earth. I’d love to come back.

Salt Water Creek Cafe, 4660 Highway 17 Bypass, Murrells Inlet, South Carolina

Salt Water Creek on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “Salt Water Creek Cafe in Murrells Inlet, South Carolina”

  1. mlevine3010 January 7, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    The chips and dip and oyster shooters look delic !

    • Liz January 7, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

      I usually stay away from chips, but they were just too good to resist!

      • mlevine3010 January 7, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

        You were on vaca so you are allowed to splurge lol :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,622 other followers

