Waffles and Ikea Jam

10 Jan

Waffle topped with whipped cream and jam

I made waffles this morning.  Eggs and bacon or pancakes are usually my Sunday Morning Breakfast staples, but my housemate recently acquired a waffle maker, so thought I’d try it!

After quickly finding Emeril Lagasse’s recipe on The Food Network via my BlackBerry (which always ends covered in sugar or flour…), I began the process.  The recipe is easy to follow and, making use of my new KitchenAid mixer (a Christmas present from my parents), I was able to whip the egg whites very easily.  We were cooking for two, so I cut the recipe in half – we were able to make 5 medium-sized waffles.

Topping them with Ikea‘s super delicious raspberry/blueberry jam, whipped cream, and a bit of fresh ground nutmeg (also a gift from my parents – a nutmeg grater!), we had a slightly sweet and very filling Sunday brunch.

One Response to “Waffles and Ikea Jam”

  1. Jill January 11, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    Your waffle looks yummy.
    Glad that you are enjoying your kitchen gifts.
    ~Mom

Leave a Reply

