A Simple Breakfast – Eggs and Onions

10 Feb

I’ve been known to skip breakfast in favor of those few extra minutes of sleep.  Sometimes I grab a piece of fruit or a yogurt on my way to wherever I’m going, not because I want those things, but because I was always taught to not skip breakfast (my middle school Latin teacher comes to mind, annoyed that all of her students were ready for a nap by 11am…).

As I grow older, and perhaps more patient/creative with my breakfast recipes, I’ve realized that the first meal of the day can actually be delicious, healthy, fun, and quick to make.

Wanting fried eggs (I believe they’re called ‘over hard’ as opposed to ‘over easy’, as I wanted the yolks to be soft, but not runny), I found whatever was in the fridge (onions, mushrooms, capers, and a few cherry tomatoes) and put together this satisfying meal.  My boyfriend taught me to put the tomatoes on the frying pan two or three minutes before serving the meal so that they’re slightly warm, yet still firm.

Leave a Reply

