Sourdough Starter, Day 1

24 Feb

Last night (I can only blame this adventure on procrastination…) I began the process of a sourdough starter.  I’ve been craving bread with chocolate inside for the past week.  If I’m remembering correctly, the last time I had it, the bread was a mild sourdough.

In the picture, you’ll notice a little note on the top of the lid.  This is so I can record my steps.  From my research, I’ve decided that every day I need to add a bit of flour and water, keeping the mixture in a warm place, until I begin to see yeast activity.  The process of arriving at yeast in the mixture is called ‘catching the yeast’ (as yeast occurs naturally if you give it enough time to form).

Day 1: 1 cup flour (with sprinkle of corn flour), 1 1/2 cup warm water.  Mix until homogeneous consistency (similar to cream of wheat), place in warm location.  I used to eat cream of wheat all the time as a kid.

12 hours into process: no activity

Leave a Reply

