First (Failed) Attempt at Sourdough Bread

2 Mar

Last night I began my first sourdough.

I used:

I kneaded it for about 8 minutes on a well-floured surface (I had to keep adding flour after a very messy first few minutes), set in bowl with about a tablespoon of olive oil covering the surface of the dough, covered with plastic wrap, and let rise for 12 hours.

When I saw that it hadn’t risen as much as would have liked, I turned the dough over a floured surface again and kneaded for a second time, adding about a teaspoon of salt (because I forgot to the night before).

I let it rise again (for about 8 hours at this point) and…nothing.  I think my starter hasn’t fully matured yet.  I’ve decided to let it rise again overnight, but I may need to be more inventive with this first experiment.

So far, only disappointment with the sourdough.  I’m feeling a frustrated, but I’m also completely new to this.  Tomorrow is a new day!

An illustration of my difficulties

EDIT: After a second attempt, I realize there must be something wrong with my starter. I should try making non-sourdough bread before I tackle this project again. Oh well, you can’t win them all!

3 Responses to “First (Failed) Attempt at Sourdough Bread”

  1. Michael and Gracie March 15, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Wow–I’d love to try this. It looks messy but lots of fun! Will have to wait for a free afternoon!

  2. Su-Lin March 6, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Oooh, I’ve got no idea about sourdough but I want to salute you for trying! Hope it turns out better next time.

  3. Jill March 4, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Day 6 looked so promising….

Leave a Reply

