Green Tea – Jasmine Dragon Pearls from Teavana

2 May

This morning I made Jasmine Dragon Pearls (Green Tea) from Teavana.  My boyfriend convinced me to purchase this and I’m glad he did: there is definitely a huge difference between tea bags and loose leaves when it comes to green tea (and most tea!).

The leaves are rolled into pearls (left) and then unfurl once they’re wet (right).  I was careful to brew the tea at a lower temperature (175 F) than other types and to not leave it too long so that it became bitter.  Also, this tea is great to brew a second time; I like to drink the first pot warm and the second iced.

No, Teavana is not paying me to advertise their teas this week (although it would be great if they would!).

4 Responses to “Green Tea – Jasmine Dragon Pearls from Teavana”

  1. Sam Linsell June 10, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    I drink green tea every morning, where can one buy Teavana? I use bags, but need to graduate up now.

    sam

    • eatingplaces June 14, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

      While Teavana is a big company and I prefer to buy more locally, the Jasmine Dragon Pearls are delicious. Their blends are also great: you can look through them at teavana.com. I’ve found that most loose teas, even inexpensive ones, taste better than bagged tea (I usually save the pearls for special occassions because they’re expensive).

      It’s probably also good to buy a tea pot with a little mesh cup inside for loose tea.

      Good luck!
      Liz

  2. debbii May 2, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Tea.. I love tea, especially the non tea bag ones <3. The taste is 10 times better, and the aroma's are just lovely! Very nice photos.

    -d

Leave a Reply

