Visiting NYC: Pongsri Thai Restaurant

28 Oct

 

I spent some time in Manhattan and Brooklyn last weekend. The trip, surprisingly, gave me quite a bit of inspiration in the Future Plans Department of my life (I even picked up Sean Aiken’s ‘The One-Week Job Project’ when I returned to Boston). I went to some great restaurants and thoroughly broke in the camera on my new GalaxyS phone (which is, by the way, awesome).

Sitting through stop and go traffic for over an hour, via bus, watching hundreds of restaurant fronts pass by, made me very excited for a late lunch.

I met my friend and we arrived just after 3pm at Pongsri on Friday. The lunch specials had just ended, unfortunately. Since we were there at an off-hour, the restaurant was very quiet, but the food was delicious and we were able to hang out for a bit (great because I had just arrived downtown after 5 hours on the bus).

I ordered a Thai iced tea ($3), Gang Ga-Ree with chicken (a yellow curry made with coconut milk, potatoes, onions, and peppers) ($12), and a side of white rice ($1).

Convenient location (and there are three others) if you’re just getting into the city and great food. One suggestion: save some money and go before 3pm!

Pongsri Thai Restaurant, 165 West 23rd Street, New York

4 Responses to “Visiting NYC: Pongsri Thai Restaurant”

  1. Elizabeth December 31, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Hi Liz! Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I am loving yours. I just added you to my google reader. There used to be another location of Pongsri just a block from my apt growing up. I had good memories there. I’m getting lots of great recommendations from your posts.

    • Liz January 1, 2011 at 5:42 am #

      You’re on my reader as well! It’s great to meet a fellow Boston Blogger.

      I’m glad that you’re familiar with Pongsri, because I quickly found it on Google Maps and hoped for the best!

  2. Eric Peterson November 10, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    Lizzy Looks:

    I vote you move to New York; would be good for your food blogging and I imagine my taste buds as well. Yeah?

    Hoping y’re well,
    Eric

Leave a Reply

