2010 Gourmand World Cookbook Awards: Andreas Viestad

24 Dec

I’ve written about my appreciation for Nigella Lawson and her amazing snickerdoodle recipe from How to be a Domestic Goddess. Now, I bring praise for another down-to-earth foodie from the same side of the world: Norwegian Andreas Viestad!

I first saw Andreas as host of New Scandinavian Cooking on PBS. There are a few different hosts on the show (my favorite is Andreas), but every episode is beautifully made and painlessly informative. Preparing dishes such as salt-baked salmon and juniper-spiced venison from mountain tops and fjord banks, Andreas shares Norwegian culture and flavors with a calm enthusiasm. This show makes me want to return to my Swedish roots!

Andreas Viestad Ekte Mat

So, if you’re familiar with him, you’ll understand my excitement when I read his name on the 2010 Gourmand World Cookbook Awards list for his book Ekte Mat! This shouldn’t come to long-time followers as a surprise, though, as he won ‘Best Foreign Cookbook in the World’ for Where Flavor Was Born: Recipes and Culinary Travels Along the Indian Ocean Spice Route. He’s an extremely knowledgeable and talented writer: check out his column, The Gastronomer, in the Washington Post. I’ll just predict right now that he’ll reach Nigella-status in the US in 10 years.

There are too many low-fat/low-time/low-skill/low-interest cooking shows out there. If you have an opportunity, catch New Scandinavian Cooking – you’ll see beautiful views, learn about Scandinavian culture, and want to start cooking outside!

One Response to “2010 Gourmand World Cookbook Awards: Andreas Viestad”

  1. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic December 27, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Ooh I’ve never heard of that show before but I do wanna watch it! I want to visit a Scandinavian country within the next couple of years, and would love to learn more about the cuisine. Thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

