Job Searching Takes Time

26 Jun

This has been a busy summer. I left you in April with thoughts on the benefits of cooking with kids. I’ve since been traveling, cooking, and sorting out my future. It’s time consuming!

My AmeriCorps position ends next month, so I’ve been researching, applying, and interviewing for jobs. After a liberal arts degree from Hampshire College, a year of wearing many hats at a nonprofit community center, and interests that include writing, traveling, the arts, and working with kids…it can be difficult to find focus. The search is continuing as I haven’t yet found a position that’s a great fit, but with more time away from work I can finally get back to blogging.

Anthony Tata, baker at Cupcake Camp

I baked for and attended Cupcake Camp in Somerville. I went to with my cousin and aunt who blogs at Food is Beautiful about CSA shares and French Fridays with Dorie, among other food adventures.

In May I spent a beautiful and relaxing week in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, where I ate my weight in guacamole, practiced Spanish, and soaked in the sun while reading Malcolm Gladwell’s newest book, What the Dog Saw (everything he does is fascinating AND completely accessible to so many audiences). It was difficult to return to gloomy Boston and even worse to be back to 9-5 in the office after beach life.

All of the media outreach I coordinated for a youth mentoring fundraising event came together for Have a Beer at Lir. Lir on Boylston has a great space upstairs for private events and they provided appetizers to our attendees. Of course, I was running the event and didn’t take pictures.

May 1st I attended my first Harvard Square Mayfair where I bought a ceramic bowl from Doug Hansel who has work at the Mudflat Gallery in Somerville. I love his simple forms, calm-inducing glazing style, and my bowl is the perfect size for portion control.

So I hope you’re well, I apologize for the time away, and I look forward to bringing you more food stories!

3 Responses to “Job Searching Takes Time”

  1. Elizabeth June 27, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    Looking forward to seeing more! And thanks for the CupcakeCamp shoutout!

  2. Laurie Lessner June 26, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    Nice to have you back to blogging, Liz! And you know how I feel, any company would be very lucky to have you as an employee!

    • Liz July 8, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

      Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

