Boston Brunchers Birthday at Island Creek Oyster Bar

17 Oct

What’s better than brunch at Island Creek Oyster Bar? Chatting with food bloggers over brunch at ICOBar!

I was very fortunate to win a ticket to the Boston Brunchers Birthday celebration on Sunday, October 16. Renee from Eat.Live.Blog. beautifully organized the event and, particularly after reading the menu and long list of event sponsors, I was counting down to Sunday all last week.

Boston food blogging events are a wonderful mix of meeting people whose blogs I follow regularly and learning about blogs completely new to me. I sat with a fantastic group of bloggers: Sue (Public Radio Kitchen), Michelle (The Economical Eater), Anthea (Night Kitchener), Robin (Doves & Figs, who gave everyone a delicious-looking Cranberry Chocolate Jam in our gift bags!), and Richard (The Passionate Foodie).

About a year ago I ate one of my most memorable dinners in Boston at Island Creek, so I was very excited to try brunch. When I entered the dining room I saw some familiar faces, tables set in modern-meets-tradition ICOBar fashion, and huge gift bags for each attendee.


A pastry basket for the table featured a variety of baked goods, including the lemon-zest citrus scone that had a crisp, sugar-coated exterior and soft interior with a moist crumb. I ordered the McCarthy’s Crossing cocktail, which appealed to me because it had the creativity of drinks I’ve loved at ICOBar before (from the menu: ‘Clear Creek pear brandy, spiced honey, rose vermouth, fresh lemon, and bubbles’). The flavor reminded me of the botanical-infused ‘Perfect 10′ gin that I love from Nashoba Valley Winery. Aside from enjoying the delicate mix of flavors in ICOBar cocktails, it should also be known that the bartenders consistently make a strong drink!


At our table we all ordered cinnamon french toast topped with apples and toasted walnuts or lobster rolls with chips and cole slaw, so I’m curious to hear how the other two meals were (bagel, lox, and cream cheese; baked beans, bacon, and egg). I paired each bite of my french toast with apple for a perfectly autumn-inspired combo.

There were giveaways throughout the meal from Boston Brunchers sponsors, the service was extremely friendly and helpful, and I thoroughly enjoyed talking with bloggers at my table.

Thank you Renee for orchestrating the event and Island Creek Oyster Bar for providing us a natural-light-filled venue and complimentary brunch with which to celebrate the first birthday of Boston Brunchers. Thank you as well to the sponsors who contributed to the gift bag. I look forward to making my way through some of my favorites, including two new cookbooks!

Island Creek Oyster Bar, 500 Commonwealth Ave, Boston

13 Responses to “Boston Brunchers Birthday at Island Creek Oyster Bar”

  1. Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} October 17, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Thanks for being a part of the day! We will have to get together soon to take a culinary tour of Watertown :)

    • Liz October 18, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      I can’t wait!

  2. Amy October 17, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Wow! Everything looks amazing! I’m definitely drooling over that lobster roll and the drink looks/sounds yummy! I’m bummed I missed out, but perhaps next time! :)

  3. Elizabeth October 17, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    So funny about the entree choice at your table. Not a single person at my table ordered the French toast. This is slightly shocking for me as I always want sweet brunch but the pastry basket was more than enough sweet for me.

  4. Jill October 17, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful day! I spent some time today (too much time) on
    Doves and Figs website and now have many new recipes to try. Along with the Chicken Soup I am making for dinner tonight, I have included Robin’s Vanilla Mint Drop Biscuits; thank you Robin.

  5. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic October 18, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Hi Liz, I don’t think we had the chance to meet during brunch! There were a lot of people and it was definitely a lot of fun, but I wish we all had a chance to mingle and get to know each other! Anyway the French Toast looks great. I ordered the baked beans and it was good too, but definitely not a typical brunch item :)

    • Liz October 18, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

      Hi Bianca! I hope to see you at another event soon so that we can formally say hello!

      The baked beans sound good, particularly the egg and beans combo, which I plan on making in the near future! I was glad they mixed it up a bit with a non-traditional dish.

  6. Megan October 18, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    No one at our table ordered french toast, so I love seeing your picture of it. The smoked salmon, bagel, and chive cream cheese was sooo good! Loved it. Wish we had gotten a chance to say hi!

    • Liz October 20, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      I felt the same way about seeing the bagel, funny how people ordered. Next time I’ll need to leave my seat for minute and make the rounds!

  7. Tobi October 18, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    Oh my goodness! This event looks so wonderful and your pictures really show me what great food you had. I need to know what was in your bag, there were lots of things in there. I’m so glad you were able to go and that you enjoyed your day. Love, Grandma

    • Liz October 20, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      Thanks Grandma! The gift bag was fantastic – two cookbooks, lots of snacks, coupons… I’m going to write about the cookbooks after I make something from them! Love you.

  8. Michelle Collins October 20, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    So nice to meet you!

  9. Laurie October 20, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Liz, glad you had a wonderful day. Sounds so yummy. I’m actually craving a crunchy scone now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,622 other followers

