Introducing the Saturday Short List!

12 Nov

Writing for EatingPlaces has been a great learning experience. In addition to improving as a writer, cook, and reviewer, I also went from being a complete Blogger/Social Media Beginner to a confident and Experienced Social Media Manager in both this blog and the professional sphere. It’s wonderful to turn a passion and hobby into a skill.

Everything on this blog – writing, photography, recipes, reviews – is my own (with the exception of labeled guest posts and a few favorite recipes that I cite). I’ve always seen my Twitter account as the place for linking to other blogs and sharing my food finds, but not everyone has Twitter and sometimes I need a break from the constant minute-to-minute RTs and DMs and #FFs.

So there’s some history for this moment of change. No, I’m not leaving. I’d like to introduce a new feature on EatingPlaces called the Saturday Short List, where I’ll share my recent food-related finds.

Please welcome the first EatingPlaces Saturday Short List!:

  • November 14 is National Pickle Day. I LOVE pickles (and anything pickled). Check out the documentary Pickles, Inc from PBS’s Global Voices. I may be known to watch hours of these in one weekend…
  • Cambridge-area Folks: 1369 Coffee House is featuring a tea of the day for $1 for November. Find them in Central and Inman Squares.
  • David Lebovitz brings us to Milan with some of the most beautiful pastry images I’ve seen in a while. You’ll want to bookmark this.
  • The Food Studies Project, a blog from University of Texas at Austin, is one my fave new finds. Its authors come from a variety of disciplines and are brought together by their interests in food. They just started the project and I’m already excited.

Have a great weekend and see you next week!

8 Responses to “Introducing the Saturday Short List!”

  1. Asiago November 18, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Thank you so much for the support. We are student initiative that is getting a lot support and interest from both Students and Faculty here at UT Austin.

    • Liz November 19, 2011 at 8:44 am #

      Of course, it’s a wonderful idea for a blog! There are great conversations happening in universities all over the world, but it’s often limited to teachers and students – I love that you’re expanding the possibilities with the Food Studies Project.

  2. Aimee November 14, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    I love this idea, Liz! I am looking forward to peeking inside your mental inspiration/wish list!

    • Liz November 19, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      Thanks Aimee, that’s exactly what it is!

  3. Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} November 12, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    The short list is a great idea! And, I feel the need to confess that I, too, am a pickle addict. Say the word and I instantly get giddy.

    • Liz November 19, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      Thanks Renee. I’m glad someone else is with me on the love for pickles! A few good new kosher dills? That’s a complete meal!

  4. Samantha November 12, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    I reay like this segment Liz, it’s a great way to end the week!

    • Liz November 12, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      Thanks Samantha! I’m so glad you liked it. I’m realizing it’s a great way to share my interests that I can’t always experience firsthand and write about (e.g. traveling all over the world). Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

