Saturday Short List: Nov 19

19 Nov

Did you have a chance to read the first ever EatingPlaces Saturday Short List last week? I received wonderful feedback and I’m excited to have this list be a weekly fixture. Feel free to email me if you have a suggestions.

  • Grab your calendars! Next Saturday (11/26) is Small Business Saturday, so exercise some restraint on Black Friday and save a few purchases for your local stores. Or, make your own using…
  • Last night I watched Black Gold, a documentary film about coffee farmers in Ethiopia and coffee trading around the world. If you drink coffee or know of anyone who drinks coffee (I think that covers everyone…), this film is a must-see. We hear terms like ‘fair trade’ thrown around all the time, but once you understand the coffee trade process, it will shift the way you pour (or order) that delicious drink.
  • So we’re now five days away from Thanksgiving. I’m not hosting, so no pressure there, but I’m excited to bring my tres leches (three milk) cake to our family Thanksgiving. I need your help, though: any favorite fruit toppings for tres leches? I’ve used pineapple and mango in the past, but I want to mix it up this year!

Thanks for checking out another Saturday Short List!

2 Responses to “Saturday Short List: Nov 19”

  1. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic November 23, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Try strawberries with tres leches! 🙂

    • Liz November 26, 2011 at 9:28 am #

      That’s a good idea! I went with pineapple again, but I’ll have to use strawberries next summer. Red and white together would be beautiful!

Leave a Reply

