Temporary Blog Breakup

30 Dec

Try to visualize this:

You’ve been together on-and-off for two years. The relationship is generally good – you look forward to spending time together, you’re optimistic about the future, you’re growing in similar ways. Then, one afternoon you have a small disagreement and you realize – this is not where you want to be! Something needs to change.

Have you ever felt this way? A romantic partner, best friend, thesis…blog?

In mid-December I attended five Boston blogging events over a week and a half. I enjoyed the company of other bloggers – some new faces, some already friends – summarized my blog about forty times, and realized I felt stuck.

So I stopped posting, turned off my Twitter phone application, and took a break. I had accidental breaks in the past – a week or two would go by without writing, but I would always attempt to make time for it. Not this month. I completely shut off my blogging and social media planning with no plan of when I’d return.

I’m back now and it’s funny how all of this came together right before the start of the New Year.

You know I love food. You may have figure out two of my favorite things are travel and sociology. You might even have a feeling I’m an artist (painter, primarily). So, where is all of this in EatingPlaces? Going forward, I plan to follow something Richard from The Passionate Foodie recently posted on Twitter:

@RichardPF: If your blog is the same at this moment as it was one year ago, there is something wrong. Be dynamic, not stagnant.

Blogging about restaurant reviews and recipes is fine and I enjoy it, but I’ve been craving something more. Something that challenges me and makes use of my passions. If you’re a blogger, how has your blog evolved?

If you’re an EatingPlaces reader, what do you like most about this blog and what would you like to see change in the future?

See you in 2012!

4 Responses to “Temporary Blog Breakup”

  1. Beth @Sailing Foodie January 2, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    Liz, you have a great blog! I too struggle with how much to share and how to keep the blog new and interesting. I have made a pact with myself to only blog when I am excited about something. I don’t like the pressure of feeling like I have to blog everyday. I feel the blog suffers when I post for posting sake. Be true to yourself and the blog will come from that 🙂

    • Liz January 20, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      Thanks so much for your kind comment, Beth. It’s good to know other bloggers struggle with content choices as well. That’s a great idea to only post when you’re excited – I’ve noticed I’ll spend days working on a post that’s a little boring for me, or a few hours on a great post I’m passionate about. I guess that’s the benefit of writing under only your own direction – no one makes us write about anything!

  2. Laurie January 1, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    Liz, I enjoy reading about the parties you go to and what you eat. I think there is nothing wrong with restaurant reviews. if you want the blog to be different in some way because you’re dissatisfied, then look at what you want it to be. Incorporating your passions is a wonderful idea. One place I struggle is getting too personal with mine. With a child, I feel torn between personal details and safety. But I know being more personal would make mine better.

    • Liz January 1, 2012 at 8:26 am #

      Thanks so much for your comment and suggestions. Being private is a high priority for me – I’m always keeping safety in mind – but I tend to like reading blogs that are more personal. This balance is definitely a good thing for all bloggers to think about.

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

