Food Goals for 2012

18 Jan

It’s great to be back! And just in time because it’s mid-January and I have some food goals.

1. Eat more whole grains, seeds, and beans. Quinoa, for example, is a complete protein and gluten free. I love the nutty flavor and it holds up well in a variety of dishes. Eating whole grains instead of more processed foods (pasta, bread, etc) is something I’m striving to do in 2012.

2. Can (and pickle!) fruits and vegetables during the summer. I’m very excited to can fresh produce and make use of my Joy of Pickling book by Linda Ziedrich from Harvard Common Press. This will mean visiting farmers’ markets, looking for inexpensive (and local) fruits and veggies in the market, and… I plan to sign up for a CSA this year! I split a share in college and loved it. Please feel free to name your favorite Boston-area CSAs (preferably pick up will be less than 10 miles from the farm).

3. Buy more local foods. Slightly more difficult in Boston than in rural areas, but definitely possible. I’ve been trying to buy food exclusively from the US (even though Florida is still far away, it’s closer than China), and from Massachusetts when available.

4. Share baked goods. I love baking, but I know I shouldn’t eat lots of sugar (or throw out food). This way, I can share with friends and I won’t eat everything.

5. Plant and grow my own (apartment-style) herbs and vegetables. So far I’m considering basil and mint. This will be exciting to document – I gardened every year when I was young, but it’s my first time indoor gardening. Anyone have suggestions? From plant varieties to window boxes, I’m looking for resources!

6. Do a raw detox for two days/month (breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks). I love eating raw. If I worked from home and lived in California, I would eat maybe…50% raw, but winter in New England and sitting in an office 50+ hours each week doesn’t make this a feasible option for me. A two-day detox will be perfect to correct any bad habits I’ve fallen into during the month, jumpstart my energy levels, and it will encourage me to try some new recipes.

7. Be prepared with healthy snacks. Chocolate is my go-to snack. Those terrible 20 minutes before dinner is ready when I can’t wait any longer…chocolate. Mid-day on the weekend when I want something sweet…chocolate. You get the idea. There are so many other – and still convenient – options for these snacks (carrots and hummus, dried fruit, an apple and peanut butter, etc), I just need to have them ready to go before I make a bad decision.

I’ve been reading great posts lately about 2012 goals. Here’s to staying focused and accountable!

2 Responses to “Food Goals for 2012”

  1. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic January 19, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    These are great goals! I can relate with the chocolate addiction of course but I’ve found ways to get around it. For instance, if I’m eating an apple with a tablespoon of peanut butter, I just choose the dark chocolate peanut butter jar to dip into 😉 Or I drink chocolate milk after workouts to replenish and for the protein!

    • Liz January 20, 2012 at 11:16 am #

      Thanks for your comment, Bianca! I’m glad you relate to my chocolate obsession (although I figured that was so from your blog title!). A little chocolate here and there is a great compromise.

Leave a Reply

