Saturday Short List: February 4

4 Feb

Today, instead of looking out into the world of other people’s recipes, I’m doing a few flashbacks from EatingPlaces. I never know which blog posts will be most popular when I’m writing them. Turns out, people like recipes! Four of my top five posts are recipes and one is a restaurant review. Oddly, there is also a lot of brown in these photos. So here they are, the top-five most-visited blog posts to date on EatingPlaces:

Thick Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, adapted from Smitten Kitchen. I love chocolate and sugar, but I also try to find balance. With more oats than flour in the recipe, these cookies are a bit healthy (without any sacrifice in the sweets department!).

Beer and Haggis at The Haven is my most popular restaurant review. I visited The Haven a few weeks after their opening and was ecstatic to find real Scottish food in Boston. Someday I will move back! Or visit…

Hasselback Potatoes: the  home-fry version of a twice-baked potato. This is one of those posts I need to re-do, similar to Elina’s idea with her Healthy and Sane flashback. I would love to revisit this easy recipe and take some prettier pictures.

Nigella Lawson’s Snickerdoodles. Similar to the Roman Honey Cookies you’ll find below, these are (in my book) acceptable breakfast cookies. Delicious dipped in tea and not too sweet.

Who would have thought Ancient Roman Honey Cookies with Sesame Seeds would be my most popular post? I’m glad, though, because they’re amazingly buttery and subtly nutty. I studied Latin all through middle and high school, so I attended many Roman Banquets, frequently bringing these cookies. Roman culture is fascinating to me and, when you add food to an already-interesting history…you can’t go wrong.

Those are the top five!

Bloggers, are you ever surprised by your most popular posts?

Food Lovers, do you have a favorite recipe that you find yourself going back to again and again?

6 Responses to “Saturday Short List: February 4”

  1. R Taylor October 4, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    Those roman honey cookies really caught my eye! I just stumbled on your blog today and found those cookies. I’ll definitely try making them.

  2. Elina (Healthy and Sane) February 5, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    I think the picture of that potato looks fantastic. I’ve actually been meaning to try something like that. And of course, you can’t go wrong with cookies 🙂
    My all time most popular post is for healthified buffalo chicken dip. It sort of went viral – pretty awesome! http://blog.healthyandsane.com/2011/10/ultimate-healthified-buffalo-chicken-dip-few-extras/

    • Liz February 14, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

      Thanks Elina! Experimenting with potato recipes is fun – I make a twice-baked potato that I should probably write a post about. I’ll make five and eat them throughout the week (sometimes even cold!).

      The dip sounds great. I love hearing about most popular posts.

  3. Elizabeth February 5, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Those Roman cookies look and sound awesome. They’re now on my list to try.

  4. Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} February 4, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    And now I want a snickerdoodle with tea. Sounds like a perfect breakfast in my book! Recipes are by far my most popular posts as well. The #1 is my Beer Bacon Chocolate Chili http://eatliveblog.com/2011/01/28/my-today-show-chili-contest-entry-super-secret-recipe-beer-bacon-chocolate-chili/, and #2 is (this surprised me) Black Bean Burgers http://eatliveblog.com/2011/03/11/meatless-meals-recipe-homemade-black-bean-burgers/

    • Liz February 4, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      Beer Bacon Chocolate Chili?! Very glad to have that recipe!

Leave a Reply

