Tasted Menu Growing in Boston

10 Apr

Tasted Menu, a website to read about and review restaurant dishes, launched about six months ago in Boston and recently expanded to Austin, Texas.

The website is gaining traction around Boston. The Tasted Menu team has been building relationships with Boston bloggers in order to spread the word about the site. Top contributors include:

These bloggers have already reviewed 300+ dishes each and are helping to build the growing collection of images and reviews.

You can find the Tasted Menu app for your iPhone, but for those who don’t have an iPhone (that’s me), the site is easy to navigate and post reviews on as well.

I just recently became a Tasted Menu Ambassador, which means I’m helping to share the site (particularly through my Facebook and Twitter accounts). I also began adding to the website with my own reviews: EatingPlaces’ profile is pictured above. On the site you can see my reviewed dishes including fried pickles from Cambridge Commons (SO good!). While my five reviews may take years to grow to 600, I see Tasted Menu functioning as a great resource for food lovers and explorers.

When you’re visiting a restaurant for the first time, it’s helpful to have a recommendation from someone who’s been there. Sure, you can check out Yelp or Urbanspoon, but those are overall reviews of dining experiences. Sometimes you just want to know what to order. Once Tasted Menu collects reviews of entire menus, you’ll be able to decide what to order before you enter the restaurant.

There are two main search options on the site: you can search by restaurant or you can search by ingredient/dish/cuisine. Searching by restaurant is great when you already know where you’re going and you want to know what to order. The latter is helpful when you’re craving something in particular and want to know where to find it.

I hope you’ll check out Tasted Menu to read reviews and start sharing some of your own dining experiences. Who knows, we might be able to help each other have a better dining experience!

Tasted Menu is compensating me for being an Ambassador with Tasted Menu merchandise and gift cards to a restaurant gift certificate site. I will never review complimentary food items on Tasted Menu and all reviewed dishes will be items I ordered and ate myself. As with all restaurant reviews on EatingPlaces, I will continue to stay anonymous while dining with the exception of organized food events, which I will disclose.

2 Responses to “Tasted Menu Growing in Boston”

  1. Taryn Collins (@tbren15) April 12, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    I didn’t realize they had an iPhone app, so thanks for letting me know! Just downloaded it, look forward to getting started.

    • Liz April 12, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      Their website is great, but yes, the app would be very good to use. I’m not sure what will come first, Tasted Menu for Android or me getting an iPhone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

