Saturday Short List: April 21

21 Apr
Cold Cellophane Noodle Salad

Cold Cellophane Noodle Salad

This winter was incredibly mild, but I’m still loving the warm Boston weather more than other years. Plus, the birds chirping outside my office window remind me to get outside as often as possible! For those of you who have office jobs, how do you make the most of the season? I’m still adjusting from my college days of reading on the library lawn in a sundress. Seems we never know how good we have it until it’s over…

Today I’m highlighting my favorite warm weather recipes and food spots from EatingPlaces:

  • I love to use alternatives to my typical carbs – pasta and rice (as you might remember from Food Goals for 2012, I’m also incorporating more whole grains, which has been a fantastic change). This Caprese-Inspired Couscous Salad is fresh, easy to make, and perfect for spring.
  • I devour everything fermented and vinegary – pickles, kim chi, sunomono – this Cold Cellophane Noodle Salad recipe is for the vinegar lovers.
  • It’s a chain and they’re sprouting up all over Boston, but Pinkberry is still a spring- and summer-time favorite. It’s low-calorie, their toppings are fresh and creative, and now with their Harvard Square location, the folks on the better side of the river (I said it – I just love Cambridge!) can easily get their fix.
  • This weather also makes me nostalgic for an out-of-town favorite: Ravenous in Saratoga Springs, NY. If you’re ever Upstate, check them out for the most delicious crepes and pommes frites this side of France. I can’t get enough.

So there they are, some of my spring favorites. What are your go-to spring recipes?

4 Responses to “Saturday Short List: April 21”

  1. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic April 25, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    Cambridge is definitely better than Boston 😉 I love froyo but my go-to is Berryline!

    • Liz April 25, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      I really need to try Berryline!

  2. Colleen @ Culinary Colleen April 23, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    I love making salads with things like farro, brown rice, and couscous in the spring (loaded with spring veggies, of course). It’s tough to really enjoy the weather with an office job, but I at least try to make my food taste like spring!

    • Liz April 23, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

      Mmm that all sounds delicious! What a great way to think about spring – and I agree! Fresh pea shoots are my favorite way to feel like I’m in the garden.

Leave a Reply

