Cupcake Camp Boston 2012

24 May

Cupcake Camp returned to Somerville’s Center for the Arts at the Armory on May 21. This was their third annual event and my second time attending as an amateur baker. Proceeds from Cupcake Camp go to Lovin’ Spoonfuls, so it was great to again support such a great cause!

Last year I baked full-size Nigella Lawson’s Night & Day Cupcakes, which were chocolate cupcakes with a lime cream cheese frosting. This year I made miniature Tres Leches Cupcakes with a Dulce de Leche Buttercream Frosting, topped with coarse pink salt.

20120524-122718.jpg

The event is set up with professional bakers in the center of the room and amateur bakers around the perimeter.

The response to my cupcakes was great and I couldn’t believe how fast people ate all 70 of them! I had only one complaint from a man who said “everyone was using caramel and salt” and, in short, he was tired of it. He was in the minority though – everyone else was very friendly, positive, and excited to be part of this annual cupcake buffet.

20120524-122801.jpg

I was assigned to a table with Caity of Caity’s Custom Cupcakes (above) and Sarah of Scoopsies Ice Cream, a soon-to-be ice cream company. We had a great time together.

I (sadly) do not own anything with a cupcake on it, but I saw some great cupcake-themed shirts and accessories throughout the event. Johanna’s hand-painted cupcake necklace was beautifully made. I need to order one. Check out her designs at La Rue Studio.

My aunt Laurie of Food is Beautiful and cousin were also attending as amateur bakers – they made Chocolate Nutella Cupcakes with a Banana Buttercream Frosting. Toward the end of the night I ventured with my cousin beyond my cupcake table to meet some other bakers. There’s nothing like being silly with your little cousin when you’ve both eaten way too much sugar!

20120524-122938.jpg

I met Diane, founder of Cupcakory cupcake truck and sampled the Creamsicle Cupcake. It was one of my favorites of the event for flavor, plus Cupcakory doesn’t use any chemicals, preservatives, or artificial ingredients in their cupcakes, which makes me like them even more.

20120524-122911.jpg

My favorite display of the night was Darci and Melinda’s vegan ‘Study Break’ sundae cupcakes. They even topped each one off with a little whipped cream!

Reminder for next year: bring pre-frosted cupcakes in a convenient container. I had the great idea of assembling my cupcakes at the event (they were tres leches – so I didn’t want them to be soggy – plus I don’t have a car…). It was a thrill and I felt like I was on Master Chef, but next year, I’m finding a way to drive over with completely pre-made cupcakes.

It’s nice to be part of these annual Boston traditions. Elizabeth does such a great job organizing the event and it was fun to see some familiar faces. See you next year at Cupcake Camp!

2 Responses to “Cupcake Camp Boston 2012”

  1. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic May 24, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    I’m bummed I missed Cupcake Camp this year. I would have loved your mini cupcakes!

    • Liz May 24, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

      Well the good thing about Cupcake Camp is that there’s always next year! Maybe I can find a good excuse to make them again for a food blogging event 🙂

      The Dulce de Leche Cheesecake Bars on your site look absolutely amazing – I’m glad I know people who appreciate dulce de leche!

Leave a Reply

