Brunch at B Street

3 Jul

June was a very long month (although I still can’t believe it’s July!). The fundraising event I planned for work was on Thursday: a 300+ person catered event at MIT with three bands, a program, and a silent auction. This was the event’s seventh year and my first time coordinating it, so it was interesting to navigate expectations from previous years while still putting a new spin on it. It was a huge success and a lot of fun, but it felt good to sleep all weekend and do those little things I had been neglecting…like cleaning my apartment!

I took a break from sleeping (isn’t that the life?) to join the Boston Brunchers on Saturday. B Street in Newton Centre set up a nice brunch for our group of eight that offered a good sampling from their menu.

20120702-111245.jpg

We started with Rose Sangria and a B Street Bloody Mary. I didn’t try the sangria because of my red wine allergy (I know, a sad allergy to have), but I did have the Bloody Mary – it was a basic bloody, exactly what I make at home.

We were then treated to a variety of tastings – my favorites were the Steak & Scrambled Egg Quesadilla (above left) and the French Toast (below). The steak was cooked nicely and the pico de gallo was refreshing. I was impressed with the french toast – a solid choice for french toast lovers that uses challah bread. The bread was eggy yet fluffy, and the apples added a summery sweetness. The Breakfast Flatbread (above right) was visually impressive, but the flavors fell flat.

20120702-111259.jpg

We then chose an entree from their egg-centric options (burger with a fried egg, turkey hash with two over-easy, omelet, scrambled eggs). Emily from What Emily Cooks and I split the ‘Hangover Burger’, a 10 oz burger with bacon, cheddar, and a fried egg served on an english muffin – it was a good pick. The browned, skin-on potatoes on the side were delicious. I’d recommend ordering a side of home fries to go with your meal.

20120702-111314.jpg

This was a lot of food, but there were no complaints when we were surprised with dessert. We shared (clockwise below) a blueberry tart, strawberry rhubarb crisp, and, my favorite, a S’mores Baked Alaska! The Baked Alaska best highlighted B Street’s dessert abilities – a graham cracker cake on the bottom with meringue on top and delicious chocolate ice cream inside. Did you know the French first made a Baked Alaska? Except they called it a ‘Norwegian Omelette’.

20120702-111927.jpg

B Street offers lunch, brunch, dinner, and late-night menus, so while we enjoyed brunch, I’m also curious to see the space transform into a drink spot in the evenings. There is so much brunch competition in the Boston area that restaurants really need to impress with unique flavor combinations. B Street seems to be embracing the challenge.

B Street, 796 Beacon Street, Newton, MA

I attended this complimentary brunch at B Street through the Boston Brunchers. All opinions are my own.

4 Responses to “Brunch at B Street”

  1. Colleen @ Culinary Colleen July 9, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    Your review is making me want to go back ASAP. Great meeting you, by the way!

  2. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic July 3, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Too bad I couldn’t make this brunch! I’ve heard great things about B Street, including your review!

  3. Elizabeth July 3, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    The food looks fantastic. Especially those fries.

    • Liz July 3, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

      I was definitely impressed with their presentation. And yes, the fries awesome – I should just order a drink and huge bowl of fries sometime!

Leave a Reply

