Cafe Burrito

16 Aug

It’s all about Mexican food this week! I recently came back from a two-week adventure in Oaxaca, Mexico, so check out some of the food I ate and look for more posts about my trip soon.

And speaking of Mexican food…this post is about the brand new Cafe Burrito in Belmont, which opened last week. Dan from The Food in my Beard invited some bloggers to a tasting and I’m excited to share some must-order items.

As the name suggests, Cafe Burrito is a coffee shop (also with a nice tea selection) and creative Mexican-fusion eatery.

My favorite flavor overall is the Carne de Casa – coffee-marinated shredded beef – which we tried in a taco with cheese and pickled vegetables (on right).

Their signature queso a la plancha (cross between grilled cheese and a quesadilla) is huge, delicious, and very affordable. My favorite combination is the Cubano (see above), which has carnitas, pickled vegetables, ham, jack cheese, and mustard.

I’m looking forward to a fun cafe in Belmont! They’re located on Trapelo next to the Studio Cinema movie theater – a short ride from Harvard Square on the 73 bus.

Cafe Burrito, 374 Trapelo Road, Belmont, MA

Thank you Dan for the complimentary invitation to sample these great eats.

3 Responses to “Cafe Burrito”

  1. Colleen @ Culinary Colleen August 17, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    I’m so sad I missed this! Looked like a delicious tasting!

  2. Elizabeth August 16, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    I am SO bummed it didn’t open before I leave. It was awesome to hear about the planning from Dan. Unsurprisingly, it looks great

  3. Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} August 16, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    Looks great! It is always fun to have a new place in the hood!

Leave a Reply

