Saturday Short List: August 18

18 Aug

I’ve had a food and food friends-filled week!

20120818-121736.jpg

On Thursday I checked out the Google+ Local and Zagat Pop-Up Lounge in Central Square, Cambridge. I tried High & Mighty Beer (‘Beer of the Gods’) AND Ocean Ave Pops (Watermelon Blueberry) for the first time, enjoyed some local artwork, and had a great time chatting.

Renee of Eat.Live.Blog and I met up for lunch at Flour Bakery. She wrote a post about it here, where you can read all about a Roasted Lamb Sandwich and Grilled Portobello Melt. Everything I try there is so good.

Hmm…I went to Toscanini’s three times this week. Don’t worry, only once was for ice cream (the other two were for an iced coffee). Their hot fudge is irresistible – and I hadn’t tried it until this week. I was in the mood for some serious chocolate, so I ordered it on micro cup of cocoa pudding. If you like chocolate, get over there!

The first of two restaurant weeks in Boston kicks off tomorrow, Sunday, August 19. I’ve had a few (i.e. two or three out of many more than that) memorable meals during Restaurant Week. The general consensus among food appreciators is that Restaurant Week is not the time to have a fair experience at an establishment. Everyone is overworked, the selection is limited, and people in the business typically dread these upcoming days. I will say last year I had the best salmon at Mooo during Restaurant Week (I went for lunch with friend and the service was also great) and Oishii Boston is perfection no matter when you go.

So I’m curious, where will you be going this Restaurant Week and where have your best Restaurant Week meals been in the past?

Happy Saturday and have a great weekend!

3 Responses to “Saturday Short List: August 18”

  1. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic August 21, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    I saw the Zagat pop-up but didn’t know what it was! I don’t have plans yet for restaurant week but I’ll probably check out a place or two!

  2. Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} August 18, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    I have plans for a lunch at Oishii. Actually, if you want to join us, let me know!

    • Liz August 20, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      Mmm I love everything about Oishii. Thanks for the invite, we’ll chat!

Leave a Reply

