Saturday Short List: August 25

25 Aug

Mmm, the weekend.

Summer is coming to an end, but it’s not too late to enjoy a boozy milkshake! Make your own, or see Eater’s guide for the best 21+ shakes in Boston.

20120825-053620.jpg
Docsconz, La Poblanita

August marks my second anniversary of living in Boston. I still can’t believe how many bloggers I’ve met here. I realized this week, though, that I should expand my food scene horizons a little and check out bloggers in others cities! One of my favorites so far is John’s food blog Docsconz. One of his recent posts is titled A Taste of Puebla – A Walking Tour of Poblano Street Food. He travels all over the world and brings back some great pictures and stories. Seriously, go visit Docsconz.

I want to eat everything in Saveur‘s Mexico Issue. Check out this gallery of pantry staples for Mexican food (I wish the descriptions included more information about which regions the ingredients are from, but it’s still a good one). How many do you use? I had no idea purslane (a wild edible my dad picked for us when I was young) is used in Mexican cuisine.

Browsing through some TED Talks I discovered Jennifer 8 Lee’s talk about the origins of many Chinese-American dishes. She even visits the town where the actual General Tso lived to see if his relatives know of the famous chicken dish – they’ve never seen it and can’t believe it’s considered to be Chinese food. Jennifer discusses fortune cookies (remember the documentary I linked to on the November 26 Saturday Short List called The Killing of a Chinese Cookie?), beef and brocoli, chop suey, and more.

2 Responses to “Saturday Short List: August 25”

  1. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic August 30, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Reading Saveur’s Mexico issue is making me want to plan a trip to Mexico! Actually reading Saveur makes me want to plan for lots of things 🙂 Hope you’re having a good week!

    • Liz August 30, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      Seriously! Their pictures are so gorgeous, I want to frame them all. Thanks for your comment and hope you’re having a good week, too!

Leave a Reply

