Saturday Short List: September 1

1 Sep

20120831-210048.jpg
View from the NERD Center

Hello September! As much as I love summer, fall in the Northeast is my favorite time of the year.

I attended two great social media events this week – Social Media for Nonprofits and Experiential Marketing 101 – so today’s list will highlight some of the information I learned and people I met/listened to.

Both events were at the Microsoft NERD (New England Research and Development) Center. They have a great space over there and everyone is super friendly, helpful…and smart! Whenever I’m near Harvard, MIT, or Kendall Square I can’t help but think that I’m walking next to entrepreneurs with innovative start-ups, graduate students from all over the world who will become our future leaders, and scientists working to cure cancer. That’s what I call an inspirational commute.

The Social Media for Nonprofits Conference on Tuesday had its own share of people making a positive difference. Speakers joined the event from a variety of cities and, as event coordinators Ritu Sharma and Darian Rodriguez Heyman hoped we would, I left not only inspired, but ‘inspired to action’.

20120831-211939.jpg
Geoff Livingston

Geoff Livingston
Geoff presented at both events and I enjoyed his speaking style – funny, honest, very informative. His new book Marketing in the Round, written with Gini Dietrich, sounds great and I look forward to checking it out. He spoke about integrated marketing and the importance of message consistency.

John Haydon spoke about Facebook for nonprofits and really shifted my perspective on how to engage an audience through the platform.

Justin Ware shared the power of online ambassadors and peer influence (view the presentation slides here). One of my biggest takeaways from his presentation was to remember humor – sometimes it’s good to post a silly picture and not take yourself so seriously.

Debra Askanase shared an engaging talk about building community from content.

The following night I drank an Izze and ate 2nd St. Creamery ice cream to a talk from Terry Lozoff of Antler and Geoff about experiential marketing. The event was part of the Boston Social Media Club – this was my first event with them and I look forward to attending more.

From practical social media tips to big-picture marketing strategies, the conference introduced me ideas that I look forward to continue pursuing. Every speaker was completely approachable – I’ve already connected with a few via Twitter and it’s refreshing to learn that these successful authors and speakers are real, down-to-earth people.

Are you attending an upcoming marketing conference or training? I’d love to hear about it!

Have a great weekend,
Liz

2 Responses to “Saturday Short List: September 1”

  1. Ritu September 4, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your experience about the conference and also great to hear that you left inspired to action!
    We look forward to seeing you at our next conference!

    • Liz September 4, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      Absolutely, thanks for stopping by Ritu. The conference was excellent and I look forward to attending again – keep up the amazing work!

      Liz

Leave a Reply

