SSL: Korean Edition

13 Oct

Glass container of kimchi from Kim Chee Pride

My favorite Kimchi

Korean food is a perfect example of a cuisine I love and know a little about, but realize I have a long way to go. We’re fortunate in Boston to have a few great Korean restaurants (read about my visit to Koreana) and markets, so I look forward to trying new (to me) flavors and dishes. Where are your favorite places to eat/buy Korean food?

Last weekend I saw an episode of the Kimchi Chronicles for the first time on the Create channel. Working on a show like that is my dream job. From some limited research, Kimchi Chronicles is from 2011 – host Marja Vongerichten travels throughout Korea exploring culture and cuisine and then returns to New York where she cooks with her husband, chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten (of Boston’s Market in W Hotel). Oh, and they’re neighbors with Hugh Jackman, so he’s on the show, too. On the episode I caught, I learned that Hugh’s diet is to eat meat every two hours. Whaaat.

H Mart is coming to Central Square, Cambridge in the space where Clear Conscience Cafe and Harvest were. I’ve been to the Burlington location a few times – their seafood section is fresh (and you can find wild-caught North American fish) and they have a huge selection of everything you could think of, but it’s a massive chain and their kimchi has MSG in it.

Central Square’s Lotte Market (297 Massachusetts Ave), only a few blocks down from the future H Mart space, must be feeling concerned. I go there for some essentials and their kimchi tastes good, except my most recent container had a large piece of cardboard in it…I need to return that and remember to not buy it again. There was no seal on any of the containers (they must fill them in-house) and I was feeling adventurous, but yeah, never again.

The kimchi pictured above is from Bing Gre Kim Chee Pride – it’s my favorite and, unfortunately, I haven’t found it in the Boston area (this container is from Albany). ‘Bing gre’ means smile in Korean. My kind of kimchi!

Happy Saturday. Hope you’re having a delicious, food-filled weekend.

6 Responses to “SSL: Korean Edition”

  1. walter January 13, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    Kim Chee Priide products are sold at C-MART supermarket in Boston’s Chinatown.

    • Liz January 14, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

      Thanks Walter!

  2. Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} October 13, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    LOVE kimchi! Have you tried to make it?

    • Liz October 13, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      No, I’ve never tried! I really should, though. Once I get the technique down, the ingredients are very straight-forward. I love radish kimchi, so that would be first on my list to make.

      • Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} October 13, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

        Well if you try I am happy to be a taste tester!

      • Liz October 13, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

        Okay sounds good! You’ve given me some inspiration!

Leave a Reply

