A Taste of Iceland at Legal Harborside

9 Mar

Sometimes the best events come from finding a little extra energy after a busy week and walking through terribly slushy snow to get there. On Thursday evening I visited Legal Sea Foods Harborside to sample the Taste of Iceland menu and kick off Boston’s ‘A Taste of Iceland’ – a week-long celebration of Icelandic culture in Boston and other cities around the country.

When I entered the second floor of Legal Sea Foods Harborside, I was offered a refreshing cocktail of Reyka vodka, lemon juice, and simple syrup. It was the perfect balance of sour and sweet.

Legal Sea Foods is featuring an Icelandic-themed menu through this Tuesday, March 12 at select Boston-area locations. I sampled bite-sized versions of some offerings. And, if you know how much I love Scandinavian chefs like Andreas Viestad, you’ll understand my excitement for the opportunity to learn more about ingredients and dishes from Iceland.

EatingPlaces_IcelandicChefs

Guest chefs Fannar Vernarðsson and Thrainn Freyr Vigfusson were cooking on-site (you’ll have to excuse my iPhone photos)

EatingPlaces_beets

beet app

EatingPlaces_salmon

marinated Icelandic salmon with fennel, rutabaga, artic char roe in spruce oil and horseradish dressing – my favorite taste of the night

EatingPlaces_lamb

app version of the entree roasted shoulder of Icelandic lamb with sunchokes, onions, preserved lemons and lamb jus

EatingPlaces_Skyr

not the prettiest photo, but this was delicious – Skyr Tiramisu style: Skyr mousse and spice cake served with coffee ice cream

If you haven’t been to Legal Harborside, here’s what you’ll see when you walk in:

Legal_Harborside_Sushi

LegalHarborside_Stairs

stairs leading to the second floor

The atmosphere and service at Legal Harborside were exceptional – I was very surprised and impressed, as I’ve been to other Legal Sea Foods locations that have a much more informal and chain restaurant feel. The night was a great opportunity to learn more about Iceland and Icelandic food, as well as tourism options available, including short flights from Boston. I knew before the event that I would love to visit Iceland, but now I’m even more excited to visit someday.

A Taste of Iceland is brought to Boston by Iceland Naturally, a marketing organization that ‘promotes the tourism, services, products, and culture of Iceland.’ I received a complimentary invitaiton to attend this media preview event through Regan Communications. As always, opinions are my own.

One Response to “A Taste of Iceland at Legal Harborside”

  1. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic March 12, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    What a fun event! I love Legal Harborside.

Leave a Reply

