SSL: July 20

20 Jul

seaturtle

Check out Myrtle from my visit to the New England Sea Aquarium. I guess she has a few years of practicing poses (she’s 75+ years old!).

It’s a hot week in Boston. I’ve been contemplating buying one of these Zoku ice pop or slush makers. Does anyone own one? Do they really make ice pops in 7 minutes? Because I would be making one every hour.

I’ve been avoiding making any hot food all week. We’re a No AC Household – I just can’t see why I would have one for the 10 days/year it’s over 90 degrees. Plus, as long as no one has a health concern with the heat, I think it’s good to embrace the season and sweat a little.

Here are some hot weather eats (and a refreshing fruity drink) to help get you through:

Passion Fruit Mojito from SippitySup via The Boys Club

Lemony Bulgur Salad with Shrimp and Spinach from Food & Wine

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Spicy Peanut Sauce from The Kitchn

Cold Beet and Farro Salad on laist, recipe from Melina Davies, chef and owner at Olive & Thyme

No Bake Salted Nutella Oatmeal Cookies from Confessions of a Chocoholic

Ice Cream with Honey-Poached Apricots from Real Simple

2 Responses to “SSL: July 20”

  1. mlevine3010 July 20, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    I am totally on a popsicle kick ! but i have the plastic dollar store mold and it does the trick ! i made strawberry lemon ones and then the next week greek yogurt and blueberry and orange ones ! next up, raspberry strawberry! yum!

    • Liz July 20, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

      Those all sound delicious! I use yogurt in my smoothies all the time, but great idea to put it in an ice pop! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

