Sweet Caroline’s Grand Opening Party

27 Feb

Saturday night Sweet Caroline’s celebrated their Grand Opening. I was excited to learn more about this new Fenway bar on Boylston Street and, with a VIP Reception invite before the public opening, it was a great opportunity to check them out.

Sweet Caroline’s opened this summer, but Saturday’s event was a good attempt to generate more buzz and show off their airy-lounge-meets-rustic-sports-bar space. Overall, we had a great time: the room was full of energy and Fenway is a good place to go out!

Image

We arrived a little after 8pm and I was happy to see Nicole from i am a honey bee, a fellow Boston Bruncher. The small upstairs bar area was busy when we arrived and quickly filled during the VIP hour. We enjoyed the open bar and chatted, but I was surprised there wasn’t more structure to the event. There was no signature drink and no general welcome, which would have been a nice touch to give guests more context. I ended up talking with the hostess, which gave me a better idea of their typical atmosphere, including the ‘living wall’ (actually made up of real plants!).

My favorite part of the night was a new-to-me Absolut flavor, thanks to Nicole, called Wild Tea. With a flowery black tea taste, it’s one of those dangerous flavors that’s very easy to drink! I’ll be buying a bottle in the near future.

I was glad we arrived early to try the appetizers, as I only saw them during the first hour. I also discovered how difficult it is to take a picture in the dark, with a drink in one hand, and without a table to set anything down on. So I apologize for the poor-quality. We sampled:

a teryaki chicken skewer, served on platter with pineapple, so I was expecting it to be sweet, but it was just basic grilled chicken

Image

puff pastry topped with lobster, unfortunately the lobster was dry

Image

bruschetta, basic but good

Image

ahi tuna wonton, a carbon-copy of the Not Your Average Joe’s app that I love, but this was served with cucumber instead of pickled ginger

Image

prosciutto-wrapped blanched asparagus, a good combination, something I’d make at home

The food was fine – it was nice to have a snack, but this selection didn’t showcase their typical offerings. In fact, nothing you see above is on their menu. It would have been easy to serve mini-sliders, shots of soup, even an app-version of a dessert.

Image

It was great to receive an invite to Sweet Caroline’s opening and I hope they do well in the future. Servers and bartenders were extremely friendly and efficient, it was good to see the space, and I had a fun time. I’d come back for a meal and drinks, but I wish I had more of an idea of what to order.

We also stopped at Tasty Burger afterward and I had a chocolate milkshake. SO GOOD! I think I gained ten pounds this weekend.

One Response to “Sweet Caroline’s Grand Opening Party”

  1. iamahoneybee February 28, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    It was great seeing you at Sweet Caroline’s and going out to Tasty Burger afterwards as well.

Leave a comment